knife fight

how can a knife that isn’t there
cut so deep and sting so bad

i’d hardly call that a knife.
then what just gutted me?
how are my insides outside?
how is it that my heart hangs free

impervious to knives, any blade
i know most people get cut by them
not me, i can take it, come on fella
show me what you’ve got in there

strapped fast to the mark
so i encourage you to throw
but the knives aren’t even there
Never were any knives, just the mark
and the mark came with me

so now cut and bleeding
wondering why i strapped me in
should have checked for knives
should have measured your aim

this wound’s not fatal, i’ll be fine
just now i know you can’t throw knives
and expect me to live

Leave a Reply

