Setting up my WordPress Test store

Things I did:

1. Went to lynda.com and listened to Self-Hosting A WordPress Site” by Maria Langer
– Got as far as “Installing with one of the suggested ISPs” and then …

2. Went to WordPress.tv and watched 1-Click Self-Installation of WordPress with Media Temple

3. Logged in to my MediaTemple Account Center and hunted down the 1-Click Applications button
– Selected the Add New Application button
– Selected WordPress
– Clicked the Install button didn’t need to worry about the warnings
– I left all the default options in the setup, ending up with blog.aaearhart.com for the path and wp_ for my database configurations
– Clicked the Install button and didn’t need to worry about any warnings as I was creating for the first time
– Refreshed a few times waiting for the process to finish and clicked the Finish button

4. Since the process didn’t automatically take me to the next step in the installation process I manually entered my URL – blog.aaearhart.com and found somehow, my blog was not showing up. Instead, my main website, http://www.aaearhart.com was loading. I’ve sent out for some support from my web host (Media Temple) regarding this.

5. Moving on, I typed in the full URL for the blog as blog.aaearhart.com/index.php and reached the WordPress blog setup screen
– Entered my blog title, email and allowed all the googly goodness to enable
– Clicked the Install WordPress button
– On the Success! page I copied my crazy password to my clipboard as instructed and hit the Log In button

6. Jumped back over to lynda.com and continued with Maria Langer and followed along through the “Importing WordPress Content” section. I wish I hadn’t done this. For the purposes of this exercise I want to build a WordPress powered store. Importing my current blog filled the place up with all my rantings as you see them here. I need to start fresh with store-ish content.

7. Continued on lynda.com with the “Next Steps” section
– Changed my password and filled out the profile information
– Edited Settings | General information
– Followed along to the Appearance | Editor portion and got sidetracked for about an hour messing around in the Editor (not saving changes) and browsing for plug-ins and themes
– Ended up with “Thematic” by Ian Stewart as it provided a detailed framework with a blank canvas for the making pretty stuff

8. Since this will be a store-front I went over to Instinct and downloaded their e-Commerce Plugin for WordPress

9. While I was downloading I grabbed the latest WordPress bundle from wordpress.org

10. Regretting having imported my actual blog, I deleted all the imported posts, categories and pages from the storefront site and got to work installing some dummy content pages, filler and categories

11. Added a couple of product pages and could not figure how to edit the main (landing) page
– Hit the main Dashboard button in the upper left corner of the dashboard window
– Used the QuickPress feature and jotted some content in
– Voila! This updated the content on my landing page

12. Now the juicy part: adding products in the Products section
– First hit the Products | Settings and made everything generically America-centric
– Then up to Products | Categories to set up some organization and structure
– I really want the “grid view” for the catalogs but this is one of Instinct’s first upsells I came across. I think this is a very worthwhile upsell though. The bastards!
– Spent about thirty minutes being perplexed by “Brands” and “Categories” and then went over to instinct to dig through their help files on this topic
– Was further stumped by “Product Tags” vs “Cloud Tags” and why the search feature seemed to not communicate with either
– Also wondering how to get the Monkey items on the Monkey page and so forth

TBC….

Leave a Reply

